Sections

Weekend Reads: Booksellers give us their recommendations

Brooklyn Paper
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook
Subscribe

Don’t miss our updates:

Word’s picks:

“The New Me,” by Halle Butler

The creep of economic precarity and labor insecurity into the millennial generation of the upper middle class, the notable absence of men in the lives of women, and a potent strain of social hostility combine to make “The New Me,” the novel you must read to understand many young professional women. Butler does not pretty anything up: not the ambivalence about b------- jobs, the professional striving, the materialist hunger for lifestyle and unearned satisfaction, or the clinging depression and noxious hope that drive this novel’s action. It is a book full of private shame made public and almost-guilty admissions, perfect for readers of Ottessa Moshfegh or Alissa Nutting. Our heroine — and she is mine — is even named Millie — the millennial. Just perfect.

Jeff Waxman, Word [126 Franklin St. at Milton Street in Greenpoint, (718) 383–0096, www.wordbookstores.com].

Community Bookstore’s pick: “Exhalation,” by Ted Chiang

The second story collection from the master behind “Stories Of Your Life” (which was adapted into the film “Arrival”), is just as mind-blowing as the first. Chiang continues to carry off his impeccable synthesis of high literary style and intensely informed speculative fiction. Think an elegant mix of Borges and Phillip K. Dick.

— Samuel Partal, Community Bookstore [43 Seventh Ave. between Carroll Street and Garfield Place in Park Slope, (718) 783–3075, www.communitybookstore.net].

Greenlight Bookstore’s pick: “A Devil Comes to Town,” by Paolo Maurensig

“A Devil Comes to Town” is an intriguing novella that alludes to multiple literary and artistic traditions, from dark fairy tales and Gothic fiction to Goethe’s “Faust” and even horror movies like “The Exorcist.” It is tense, paranoiac, and well-crafted in its short length.

— Geo Ong, Greenlight Bookstore [686 Fulton St. between S. Elliott Place and S. Portland Avenue in Fort Greene, (718) 246–0200, www.greenlightbookstore.com].

Posted 12:00 am, June 1, 2019
Today’s news:
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook
Subscribe

Don’t miss our updates:


Reasonable discourse

Comments closed.

First name
Last name
Your neighborhood
Email address
Daytime phone

Your letter must be signed and include all of the information requested above. (Only your name and neighborhood are published with the letter.) Letters should be as brief as possible; while they may discuss any topic of interest to our readers, priority will be given to letters that relate to stories covered by The Brooklyn Paper.

Letters will be edited at the sole discretion of the editor, may be published in whole or part in any media, and upon publication become the property of The Brooklyn Paper. The earlier in the week you send your letter, the better.

Keep it local!

Stay in touch with your community. Subscribe to our free newsletter: