Sections

Budin’s licorice latte is the most expensive brew in a borough full of fancy coffeehouses

The $7 latte reviewed

Black gold: Budin’s $7 licorice latte is served with not one but two pieces of licorice.
The Brooklyn Paper
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook
Subscribe

Don’t miss our updates:

The $7 latte has arrived in Greenpoint — and we put it to the taste test.

A Scandinavian coffeehouse called Budin made a splash when it opened last Friday thanks to a $7 licorice latte that apparently breaks through the brown ceiling and sets a borough record for most expensive coffee drink. But is it worth it?

The drink is scrumptious if you like the black chewy stuff. The espresso has a light taste that works well with the strong licorice syrup. And in case the candy flavor leaves you craving the real thing, the concoction comes with two pieces of licorice on a spoon.

We partook for journalism’s sake. But what about everyday Brooklyn java hounds? Would they pay $7 for the ballyhooed beverage?

“I might buy one occasionally as a treat,” said Glenda Cortez, stopping into Budin on opening day.

Another customer was less eager.

“Honestly, probably not,” said Joe Levinson, slurping a less expensive cup of joe.

The Nordic-themed cafe on Greenpoint Avenue, between Franklin Street and Manhattan Avenue, offers cups of regular old drip coffee for the utilitarian caffeine-seeker. But fancy northern European roasts from names renowned among the coffee cognoscenti — including Tim Wendelboe from Norway, Koppe from Sweden, and Drop Coffee, also from Sweden — range from $4.50 to $5 per cup.

More money gets customers a more lavish presentation. The higher-priced varieties are made with a filter inside a porcelain cone that the barista pours hot water over. And, to complete the royal treatment, the finished product comes in a tiny carafe on a silver platter.

The coffee is supposedly better, too.

“Their roast is lighter and the flavor profile is different,” said co-owner Crystal Pei, of the northern European roasts.

Norwegian java guru Wendelboe will make the trip to the shop from Oslo, Norway in April to greet and treat local bean buffs.

Seven bucks is the highest price we have ever seen for a Brooklyn latte (for comparison, a peppermint latte at Starbucks runs $5.39), but the $7 latte’s appearance on the scene made us wonder if there are any coffee drinks more expensive out there. We asked Budin’s competition around the borough for their costliest concoctions.

Here is what we found.

Cafe Grumpy in Greenpoint — Iced mocha, $5.25

Little Skips in Buswhick — Iced buckeye (coffee with a shot of espresso), $4.50

Propeller Coffee in Greenpoint — Iced mocha, $5

Toby’s Estate Coffee in Williamsburg — Chai latte with a shot of espresso, $5.25

Kave in Bushwick — Mocha, $4.50

Pudge Knuckles in Williasmburg — The appropriately named “F--- sleep,” which consists of a large cup of cold-brewed coffee concentrate with two shots of espresso, $5.25

Reach reporter Danielle Furfaro at dfurfaro@cnglocal.com or by calling (718) 260-2511. Follow her at twitter.com/DanielleFurfaro.
Updated 10:17 pm, July 9, 2018
Today’s news:
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook
Subscribe

Don’t miss our updates:


Reasonable discourse

Michael from Bay Ridge says:
It's no wonder Iceland went bankrupt if the icelanders all spent their money on expensive lakkris coffees! :-)

I don't know if 7 dollars is so expensive as to warrant an article. It's not that I think it's cheap, but surely there's already more expensive coffee drinks than that in Brooklyn (at least I believe there are).

Also, I've been to Iceland many times, and can tell you that the coffee there is about the same price as at this cafe. 7 dollars is a little under 800 krona.
Feb. 17, 2014, 4:05 am
diehipster from Bludgeoning Brents says:
Here's my review.

http://www.yelp.com/biz/búðin-new-york?hrid=YNFYUVof3r01ruNISBKZwQ
Feb. 17, 2014, 9:27 am
Mike from Williamsburg says:
The best part of your yelp profile: "DieHipster has no friends."

I guess you stopped wanting to review things as Jerome for some reason.
Feb. 17, 2014, 2:07 pm
ICTHRUU from Earth says:
No work today? Idle hands are the devil's playground.
Feb. 17, 2014, 3:23 pm
diehipster from Bludgeoning Brents says:
Yes Mike from Wisconsinburg. Yes, you are 100% accurate. Good job.

I know it hurt seeing all those 100's of "Useful Info", "Funny", and "Cool" compliments under all my reviews. Kind of shows you how society tends to agree with me and my sentiment. As for the no friends on there - I don't accept the friend requests. And finally, Yes, maybe I'll start posting under "Jerome" again soon just for you Mike from Wisconsinburg. You got me.

Hey? Where's your team of smug yups today? I bet they've all been biting their tongues since this morning not wanting to get lured in by this latte article or to have to challenge the great Diehipster. I think my Yelp account has them stunned, just like you are right now.
Feb. 17, 2014, 3:24 pm
ty from pps says:
Gotta love all of the "reviews" on Yelp by Diehipster... basically, he hasn't gone to any of the places he's commenting about and takes the opportunity to post the typical rehash of one of his inane hipster comments.
Kudos Diehipster! It's almost like you're not a pathetic idiot with a mental illness.

(And Swamp Yankee's review? Ha! "Meh....Had a cup of the $7 stuff..." Why do I find this hard to believe? Created a Yelp account just to share this little story. A little suspect, no?)
Feb. 17, 2014, 5:09 pm
old time brooklyn from slope says:
if you are dumb enough to spend $7 on a cup of coffee I can only say bravo to the peeps you are paying it to
Feb. 17, 2014, 6:50 pm
Townie Hunter from North Brooklyn says:
Diehipdouche writes these 1 star yelp "reviews" of places that he wouldn't be caught dead in. Except for his glowing review of that crappy Spumoni Gardens. Stay in south Brooklyn Jerome, with the rest of the townies.
Feb. 17, 2014, 6:52 pm
diehipster from Bludgeoning Brents says:
Hey TowniehunterMikefromInterlopersCoochbergNorthsideNedTyppsNYPD (whichever one of you overly defensive smup yups you are),

L&B has been around since the 1930's. You think any one of those pathetic overpriced hipster joints will last over 70 years???????

HAHAHAHAHAHA Imagine a place called "Egg" that sells $15.00 Kale and Eggs with toast lasting 70 years???

Oh man you Yups are just to easy to put in your place. LOL
Feb. 17, 2014, 8:08 pm
Mike from Williamsburg says:
No, Jerome, if society agreed with your views, you wouldn't be fighting tooth and nail to preserve your way of life and you wouldn't live in constant fear of being driven out by the newcomers that represent what Brooklyn will be.
Feb. 17, 2014, 9:36 pm
loko from poko says:
$7 for coffee is a big deal. But $7 for a craft beer is a steal!
Feb. 17, 2014, 10:58 pm
The Chooch from Choochinello's Ghetto Roast says:
Well, in the first place this is not a story. It’s a come-on from BP, maybe to stoke the comments section. They’ve done it twice now with the same $7 cup of joe. But it’s a pretext. A pretext to a smackdown. Because it’s not news. Seven bucks is what you pay for a coffee in Paris or Zurich. And now you can pay it in Brooklyn too. Not news. What we are NOT talking about is a fifty-cent cup of Bustello from your toxic diner circa 1989, and this of course is the point. Abracadabra baby. Some fairy dust on your megachino?
Feb. 17, 2014, 11:09 pm
Steve from Central Brooklyn says:
Aww Jerome. Such hatred for what your beloved borough is becoming. Greenpoint and Williamsburg were transplatified over 20 years ago. Now some of the previously untouched "didn't need to be gentrified" neighborhoods are seeing the hipster invasion, like Kensington and Midwood. Even Bensonhurst isn't what it used to be. Maybe you and your mook buddies can wall in Bensonhurst,, Bay Ridge and Dyker Heights or annex it with Staten Island.

The Brooklyn we grew up in is long gone. The only one that hasn't realized that is you.
Feb. 18, 2014, 9:09 am
NYPD from NY says:
Does anyone have any documented proof that diehipster has actually hit a hipster? Or even mouthed off to one? I'm guessing she has never said anything to anyone and this is all internet tough guy gas. Jerome? can you back up your claim of beating off brents?
Feb. 18, 2014, 10:06 am
Michael from Bay Ridge says:
@Steve from Central Brooklyn -
Please don't group Bay ridge with die hipster. Many people here don't agree with him, and I like to think that Bay Ridge is a really mixed and vibrant neighborhood - old brooklyn, the last bit of scandinavian brooklyn, bensonhurst spill over, park slope spill over, immigrants, and even some hipsters (I know, nothing like williamsburg).

On the coffee, if it's very good, then surely it's worth the price. not all coffees are the same. Just as you could buy a cheap bottle of wine or an expensive, the price of the coffee is probably related to the quality and demand. I would be interested in having some very high quality coffee, and paying 7 dollars for it is no problem. Like I said before, I've actually had a similar drink in iceland for the same price. Also, as Cooch said, the price isn't any higher than a good cup of coffee in Paris. It's actually the same price as pretty bad cup of coffee in London :-) And again, agree with those who say this isn't really news.
Feb. 18, 2014, 10:24 am
The Chooch from those swaggering Bohemian goombahs says:
NYPD from NY says:

"Does anyone have any documented proof that diehipster has actually hit a hipster? Or even mouthed off to one? I'm guessing she has never said anything to anyone and this is all internet tough guy gas. Jerome? can you back up your claim of beating off brents?"

The anti-gentrification extremists have always been reactionary, not actually radical. Their language has always been colored with "tough guy", "old Brooklyn" bravura. They use threats and intimidation that echo the old world of gangs and the mob. Have they ever acted on any of this? Not once. They're püszies. However, they do take any chance they can to cast aspersion on gay people, freaks, vegans. It' a classical brownshirt methodology. You start by cornering the minorities and the outsiders within the society you wish to topple. You leave graffiti droppings here and there. You epoxy the locks on the hippy stores. You slither up to the pentecostal and RC churches in a vain search for allies from some redneck Brooklyn element that never really existed. But the bet has not paid off. Because maybe 20 native Brooklynites actually "hate" hipsters. Any reformed Greenpoint skinhead can tell you that. Anyone who expresses intolerance toward a particular group in Brooklyn, is no Brooklyn tough guy, but a loser. Brooklyn is tough because Brooklyn is tolerant. Or as the Italian community calls it: respect.
Feb. 18, 2014, 11:49 am
ramf from williamsburg says:
Are we all sure diehipster isn't a Brooklyn Paper employee paid to stoke the comments section of every "hipster" trend or profile article to increase click throughs for advertisers?
Feb. 18, 2014, 11:52 am
The Chooch from those swaggering Bohemian goombahs says:
"outsiders within the society." HA. Of course the Chooch means "outsiders" in the colloquial sense. No one is truly an outsider except for this guy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iq0rZn8HFmQ
Feb. 18, 2014, 12:02 pm
The Chooch from those swaggering Bohemian goombahs says:
Even if he were a plant, it's still a testament to the failure of intolerance as a response to gentrification. And if someone can make money failing that term paper, all power to them. Oh, and yes, the Chooch is also on the BP payroll. In fact, anyone who tables the mere iota of a positive outlook on hipsters and gentrification, is on the Walentas-Ratner payroll. That's another component of the looney-fringe — intellectual laziness. If you don't like it, it's a plot by the masters of the universe.
Feb. 18, 2014, 12:11 pm
The Chooch from those swaggering Bohemian goombahs says:
Silence is golden and the Chooch rests his case. Ordinarily we would now see an attempt to "out" the Chooch as a homosexual or something. You slink down that alley though, and there's the Chooch.
Feb. 18, 2014, 12:31 pm
JAZ from Hunting Redbeards says:
Someone who thinks L&B is crappy while loving a $7 cup of coffee doesn't sound like the sharpest tool in the shed.
Feb. 18, 2014, 12:36 pm
The Chooch from Choochinello's Deep Dark Bohemian Roast says:
JAZ, someone who buys a $7 cup of coffee is going to sit there on his laptop for two hours and make $150. It's not like, grab a joe and run off to your job at the loading dock. It's a different world here, it does not bear comparison to the Bustello paradigm.
Feb. 18, 2014, 12:50 pm
"Interloper" from Kent Ave says:
Unlike some of these "real Brooklynites" like dieHipster, Swampy and others I have a real job that pays me pretty decently. I probably wouldn't buy this every day, but I plan on checking out the $7 latte just for the sake of it. I'll probably buy another and pour it out on the ground right in front of dieHipster and Swampy's co-op's / grandmother's apt to spite them. Obviously $7 lattes are ruining Brooklyn. Sorry I'm not sorry that you can't afford it. You should have thought about that before you decided not to try in school, not go to college and ended up working at the post office.
Feb. 18, 2014, 8:02 pm
Kyle from Bay Ridge says:
Oh god, please save the whole "respect" routine, NYPD.

How much tolerance does N. Brooklyn show for lifelong residents who don't have the financial resources to keep up with this new wave of "brooklynites"? None. They're told to f*ck off to the next area until the "artists" move in and clean up the area and make it acceptable for the next wave to come in. It's very easy to be an openminded "live and let live" tolerant hipster lover if you own property or rent in areas that are outside of the eye of the hipster/yups like Bay Ridge or Dyker, etc.
Feb. 18, 2014, 10:30 pm
Michael from Bay Ridge says:
@Kyle - do they need to show "respect"? I think that most people really just act according to their own interests, not thinking about all of their neighbors every time they make a decision.
Housing prices in neighborhoods go up and down. Especially if you look at Bushwick. My friend's mother grew up there when it was a fairly nice neighborhood, only to see it turn into a terrible ghetto and their family home was suddenly worthless. Now it's getting more expensive because it's desireable again. Both changes are just part of life. If you own in an up and coming neighborhood, you're lucky. If you rent there, you're not lucky. Having to move when things change is just a part of life. it's not like there aren't dozens of neighborhoods that are very affordable and ok all over Brooklyn and Queens.
Also, you might be surprized to know that Bay Ridge is a mixed neighborhood, and has "hipster/yups"! Some who have grown up here, and some who have moved for the historic houses. Bay ridge was mentioned on this old house as one of the best places in the US to buy a historic home. there's also lots of people in north brooklyn who don't meet your description.
New waves or old waves, does it really matter? Wouldn't you be better off just ignoring people you don't like? Or not being so concerned with what other people do? Same for Interloper and The Cooch - I don't see where saying mean things or grouping everyone who was born in brooklyn (like myself) into one big lump gets you. It's not reality, and it's petty.
Feb. 19, 2014, 4:21 am
JAZ from Hunting Redbeards says:
I wonder what will happen to the $7 cup of 'kahhhfeee' when a new place opens on the block. There will be a $10 cup made by a gentrifier with a redder beard, a more smug expression, and just a few more tats that offers a few more ipad docking stations.
Feb. 19, 2014, 9:36 am
Jack from next door says:
Don't hate JAZ, don't ya know that every hipster in there slurping a $10 coffee with a laptop is making $150 writing ad copy! Damn, that cafe is an incubator of creative geniuses! Imagine how many ads are being written in one day!!!
Feb. 19, 2014, 10:10 am
The Chooch from Choochinello's Deep Dark Bohemian Roast says:
Michael from Bay Ridge, the Chooch agrees with every word you say. And he does not lump all native Brooklynites together, not by any means. Did I not say above that "there are maybe 20 people in Brooklyn who actually 'hate' hipsters?" The mook jarhead stoooopit stereotype that the Chooch deploys here, is aimed at that minuscule minority of native Brooklynites who choose of their own free will to reinforce that stereotype through their own words. There's an important distinction here. The hipster-haters target hipsters in general. The Chooch targets only those "mooks" in particular who hate hipsters in general. And this is a very small numer of unfortunate losers in the borough.
Feb. 19, 2014, 10:12 am
The Chooch from Choochinello's Deep Dark Bohemian Roast says:
And you will say then that we should simply ignore the haters. We should do no such thing, for they raise the issue of hipsters and gentrification, and this is a valid conversation to have. The more we have it, and the more Chooch spanks their azzes here on Brooklyn Paper, the more light we shed on the matter of gentrification.
Feb. 19, 2014, 10:21 am
The Chooch from The Bohemian Magic Show says:
A "Guido!" Goodness gracious, Magaley, the Chooch has far too much respect for the Italian-American Community to throw off a word like that! They were the ones who kept many of these neighborhoods safe during the age of urban blight. The same can be said for the Satmareem. The artists, hipsters, bohemians, we just bring the magic.
Feb. 19, 2014, 11:15 am
The Chooch from The Bohemian Magic Show says:
Abbrakazaam sweetheart. Who loves ya.
Feb. 19, 2014, 11:20 am
Magaly from Brooklyn says:
You have zero respect for Brooklyn Italians and a whole lot of self-loathing. Why aren't you creating your "magic" instead of spending your days as Brooklyn Paper's grand defender of hipsters? Wasn't your Unemployment Insurance recently cut short? Better make that "magic" work quick! go! go! LOL
Feb. 19, 2014, 11:22 am
NYPD from NY says:
Kyle from Bay Ridge says:
Oh god, please save the whole "respect" routine, NYPD.

Wut?

Secondly, don't blame people who move here for a career [or whatever] as the reasons why rents are increasing. Blame the greedy landlords and building owners.
Feb. 19, 2014, 12:05 pm
The Chooch from Choochinello's Deep Dark Bohemian Roast says:
BAH! The Chooch is havin' a cow here! Magely, why should I respect you if you don't respect me? You wanted this fight, sweetheart, and you're getting it. Is there something I'm missing here? Respect for native Brooklyn is a special entitlement? Like welfare? But a hipster is just another Jew? Is that it?
Feb. 19, 2014, 12:39 pm
The Chooch from The Bohemian Magic Show says:
No, NYPD, don't even blame the landlords and developers. Blame the politicians for not biting the bullet and telling the truth. Brooklyn needs a shytload of new and mostly market-rate housing. High density will be the norm in Brooklyn this century. Yes, there will be preservation, yes there will still be old school industrial areas (mostly rescued from demolition by Swedish spas and upscale faux-bohemian hangouts), but there will also be condo towers on every skyline of every neighborhood. And you will be glad for that because it will take the pressure off the old housing, it will generate tax revenue for subsidized housing, and it will bring cash and jobs into the neighborhoods. Abbra ka fahkkin Zam baby!
Feb. 19, 2014, 1:09 pm
The Chooch from The Bohemian Magic Show says:
You have start thinking if old factories in Bushwick the way people started to think about brownstones in lower Brooklyn 30 years ago. They will be legacy buildings, they have to be landmarked, they'll cost a ton of money to renovate and maintain, and they will be very very expensive.
Feb. 19, 2014, 1:18 pm
NYPD from NY says:
Chooch, fair enough.
Feb. 19, 2014, 1:54 pm
Squid Burns from Under a bridge in KC says:
Pssssshhhh... we got $7 dollar coffees here in KC and they all taste like crap. Of course each cup is hand delivered by a 3rd world child you get to keep and take home to rake the leaves... now that's service!
Feb. 19, 2014, 4:09 pm
Libertardian from Bay Ridge says:
$7 coffee - it's all about internet clicks for the news outlet and publicity for the seller. Like a $10k cocktail. Mission accomplished, I'd say.
Feb. 19, 2014, 4:59 pm
Kyle from Bay Ridge says:
Once again, this conversation isn't about hipsters from my perspective. Sure, I hate them and I find it sad that Brooklyn's great legacy is being mixed with them but the larger issue is the fact that they're a driving force in forcing out lifelong residents because of their very obvious role in gentrification. It would be one thing if it were simply a matter of ignoring some 35 year old beardo walking down the block looking like an idiot - I'm quite capable of doing that - but it's another when a few thousand of them move in and completely take over the area and price you out in the process.

As far as Bay Ridge goes, I know what it is - I live here and I love it. What makes Bay Ridge one of the city's best areas is its ability to have immigrants and millionaires coexist without either group being threatened economically by the other - do you think middle class people in Bushwick feel the same? Doubt it.
Feb. 19, 2014, 8:18 pm
Kyle from Bay Ridge says:
Also, you spoke about your friend's mom in Bushwick - assuming she rents, what good does it do her if the neighborhood becomes better if it only means that her rent is about to go through the roof? Does it ever occur to anybody on here that some people can't afford to pay $2400 a month for a 1 br? Do you think your average hispanic family in Bushwick would rather pay $900 extra a month in rent because now they can buy $7 lattes?
Feb. 19, 2014, 8:21 pm
The Chooch from The Bohemian Magic Show says:
Well, Kyle, I think there are Hispanic families in Bushwick who own their homes and are very happy with the way things are going. And many of the new hipsters in the neighborhood occupy factory buildings that have been vacant for decades. I find it sad that Bushwick was in such decline for so long, and it's nice to see hipsters reinvigorating the great legacy of Brooklyn. So what was your point?
Feb. 19, 2014, 9:13 pm
Kyle from Bay Ridge says:
Ha, yeah, a few lucky property owners makes it all better! You do realize that the vast majority of people in this city rent, right? Good for those select few who own, they hit the jackpot, but for every building owner there are another 10 renters who are being shuffled out to the next neighborhood to make room for the next wave of vacationing "artists" who in turn well attract developers who will complete the process.

Go take a look at the latest "Newest New Yorkers" and see which part of Brooklyn attracted the least amount of immigrants (hint: it's the one that is supposedly thriving and creating tons of "opportunities" for "everybody"). Face the facts for all bohemian imagery, North Brooklyn is an area that only welcomes those with very large bank accounts (or access to someone else's large bank account) and has much more in common with what it pretends to oppose, Manhattan, than it does with the true spirit of Brooklyn. Name me one person or thing of cultural significance to come out of N. Brooklyn over the last 20 years...($9 chocolate bars don't count).
Feb. 19, 2014, 10:33 pm
Michael from Bay Ridge says:
@Kyle - My mom's friend no longer lives in Bushwick. Her mother owned a house there and they moved after her grandmother was mugged. When they moved, the value of their house had decreased so much that they couldn't afford to buy another house with money in any ok neighborhoods, so they went from owners to renters.
Before it became trendy there really weren't many middle class people at all in Bushwick. It was a poor neighborhood. Very dangerous as well.
You're right, much of brooklyn is now more like the Village than it is like 1970s brooklyn - which is great. I like the nice chocolate bars, and i think that the fact that the abandoned factories are back in use again is good. the crime rate for all of Brooklyn is much lower than it used to be - that's not bad.
If you rent, there's always a chance you'll have to move. Moving is fine, and it's not like there's nowhere to go. People move when neighborhoods get more expensive, they also move when they get less expensive. You can't decide who lives where, and it's not really your business if someone wants to pay more than you think they should. many people felt pressured to move out of Bushwick by changes in the 70s when it became more dangerous and suddenly was full of new immigrants. It's their choice. If people have to move out now, it's just how the tide turns. And if you don't like someone's style, don't look at it. Maybe they think you look like an idiot when you walk down the street - that doesn't make you one or make them one.
Feb. 20, 2014, 4:39 am
The Chooch from from the borough that no longer sleeps says:
What Kyle, you don't go to gallery openings in Bushwick? I didn't think so. Look, the hipsters make culture for them, not for you. It's an elitist culture. It's not welfare. It's not a daycare program. You have to work hard to participate in this culture. And you have to be well educated. You can't say things like "amount of immigrants." The correct phrase is "number of immigrants." Now y'all skiddy along now scoot, get off my stoop. It's four in the morning.
Feb. 20, 2014, 4:44 am
Irish M'therfkr from White of Stone says:
@Kyle is dead on. This is more socio-economic than it is hating young white beardos backed by mommy and daddy's Midwest bank accounts. Every part of NYC was at one point white, but middle class to poor hard ass working immigrants from Europe. As they moved up in society, a next wave of darker immigrants came in. NYC was always for the working class (excluding Manhattan). The transient hipsters, all because they saw Friends on TV back in 1999, are taking this away and along with it the legendary NYC accent. I travel all over the country for business and it sickens me when I meet fellow "NY'ers" who lay claim but have vanilla Midwest accents. The funny thing is when they look me in the eye, they know that I know the truth. I've accepted that NY is losing a generation or two of NY kids, born and bred hard, like most of us were, products of immigrant families, but my hope is that these hipster grandkids will someday retain the NYC accent once again and shed this part of disgusting history.
Feb. 20, 2014, 5:47 am
Michael from Bay Ridge says:
@Irish - Brooklyn was wealthy, with working class apartments along the avenues. Just look at all the mansions. They're in basically every neighborhood: Flatbush, Bay Ridge, Park Slope, Bushwick. now it's going to be wealthy again. There was a short time when things went down, first to middle class, then poorer in lots of Brooklyn, but originally it was wealthy. Manhattan was filled with slum apartments for poor immigrants.
Friends was also the worst tv show ever made. It's not funny!
Feb. 20, 2014, 7:36 am
The Chooch from The Bohemian Magic Show says:
Gentrification is the norm, urban blight is the exception.
Feb. 20, 2014, 9:13 am
Kyle from Bay Ridge says:
Oh, so provided you have the money then it's completely justified to come an area and run everybody out of town? How American. Also, while you may be correct concerning education, don't try to tell me these beards work harder than your average Bushwick resident pre-2007.

Simply pointing to capitalism / "free markets" (very fuzzy terms when you consider the amount of subsidies in these project) doesn't take away from the fact that honest, hard working people are having their lives turned upside down because a few thousand transplants have this obsession with living in "brooklyn" (and then turning it into something completely opposite of what their seeking. Also, spare me the whole "areas change, bensonshurst used to be italian" routine, there's a big difference between a population voluntarily moving to Long Island and one who is being driven out.
Feb. 20, 2014, 8:05 pm
Sanchia from San Antonio says:
Wow Chooch, you're a Brooklyn Paper blog hero, posting all hours of the night and all throughout the day. A true defender of interloping 35-year-old worthless cornballs backed by their parents' money. Awesome.
Feb. 20, 2014, 9:06 pm
John from Sunset Park says:
Kyle - people have always been moving into New York and driving some people out of their neighborhoods. People said the same thing in the 30s 40s and 50s when the transplants were poor black people from the south. Anyone has the same right as anyone else to move wherever they want, when they want to. Grouping people and trying to control them is prejudice, whether it's black people or midwesterners.
Btw, the US is a capitalist country, so it would make sense that capitalist principles were allowed.
Feb. 21, 2014, 10:05 am
The Chooch from The Bohemian Magic Show says:
The Bohemo-Hipster takeover of Brooklyn has been underway for more than 30 years, Kyle, sorry you haven't noticed. This is what the Chooch is trying to tell all youz mooks. This is AS big as the blacks and the Jews. This is AS big as the Puerto Ricans. And it's changing the character and the flavor of the borough every bit as much. This is history, we are witness to a new culture in Brooklyn. And you stand there and complain about it? Like I care? The Chooch doesn't owe you a living, no one owes you a place to live, there's no special entitlement for mook Brooklyn. What, it's the end of the world because you can't afford the neighborhood no more? So move to Buffalo.
Feb. 21, 2014, 11:19 am
Me from Bay Ridge says:
The people who work the hardest make the LEAST money.
Feb. 23, 2014, 6:01 pm
Brian from Copenhagen says:
You misspelled Koppi.
(www.koppi.se)
March 21, 2014, 12:31 pm

Comments closed.

First name
Last name
Your neighborhood
Email address
Daytime phone

Your letter must be signed and include all of the information requested above. (Only your name and neighborhood are published with the letter.) Letters should be as brief as possible; while they may discuss any topic of interest to our readers, priority will be given to letters that relate to stories covered by The Brooklyn Paper.

Letters will be edited at the sole discretion of the editor, may be published in whole or part in any media, and upon publication become the property of The Brooklyn Paper. The earlier in the week you send your letter, the better.

Keep it local!

Stay in touch with your community. Subscribe to our free newsletter: