Sections

Brooklyn bookstore staff picks for Nov. 29

What to read this week

The Brooklyn Paper
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook
Subscribe

Don’t miss our updates:

Word’s pick: “The Penguin Book of Witches” by Katherine Howe

Spanning two continents and three centuries, “The Penguin Book of Witches” is a comprehensive and fascinating look at this history of witchcraft. Howe has curated nearly 50 primary sources — including warrants, court records, and even a witch-hunting manual — which, with help from her insightful introductions, give the reader an entirely new perspective on witchcraft and early American history. If you’ve ever wondered over the judgement of our ancestors or our continuing fascination with witches, this book will certainly satisfy.

— Emma Nichols, Word [126 Franklin St. at Milton Street in Greenpoint, (718) 383–0096, www.wordbrooklyn.com].

The BookMark Shoppe’s pick: “Yes, Please” by Amy Poehler

Sharp and insightful, “Yes, Please” is a perfect way to get through the holiday madness by just sitting back and enjoying a good laugh and some fun writing. Every single Amy Poehler fan needs to read this book. She tackles many important topics while using her amazing sense of humor to personalize it.

— Christine Freglette, The BookMark Shoppe [8415 Third Ave. between 84th and 85th streets in Bay Ridge, (718) 833–5115, www.bookmarkshoppe.com].

Greenlight Bookstore’s pick: “A Brief History of Seven Killings” by Marlon James

In short, a masterpiece. I’m completely and utterly in love with this book. Don’t let its heft deter you — James’s powerful, evocative writing combines with a story so convoluted and so compelling that these 700 pages are devoured in the blink of an eye. Perfect for fans of John Le Carre and James Ellroy (weird combo, I know), though honestly, if you consider yourself a real lover of fiction, this is one of the year’s must-reads.

— Emily Russo Murtagh, Greenlight Bookstore [686 Fulton St. between S. Elliott Place and S. Portland Avenue in Fort Greene, (718) 246–0200, www.greenlightbookstore.com].

Updated 10:17 pm, July 9, 2018
Today’s news:
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook
Subscribe

Don’t miss our updates:

Reasonable discourse

Enter your comment below

By submitting this comment, you agree to the following terms:

You agree that you, and not BrooklynPaper.com or its affiliates, are fully responsible for the content that you post. You agree not to post any abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening or sexually-oriented material or any material that may violate applicable law; doing so may lead to the removal of your post and to your being permanently banned from posting to the site. You grant to BrooklynPaper.com the royalty-free, irrevocable, perpetual and fully sublicensable license to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from, distribute, perform and display such content in whole or in part world-wide and to incorporate it in other works in any form, media or technology now known or later developed.

First name
Last name
Your neighborhood
Email address
Daytime phone

Your letter must be signed and include all of the information requested above. (Only your name and neighborhood are published with the letter.) Letters should be as brief as possible; while they may discuss any topic of interest to our readers, priority will be given to letters that relate to stories covered by The Brooklyn Paper.

Letters will be edited at the sole discretion of the editor, may be published in whole or part in any media, and upon publication become the property of The Brooklyn Paper. The earlier in the week you send your letter, the better.

Keep it local!

Stay in touch with your community. Subscribe to our free newsletter:

Optional: