Sections

Book picks for those cold nights

for The Brooklyn Paper
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook
Subscribe

Don’t miss our updates:

Word’s pick: “The Daylight Gate” by Jeanette Winterson

Having read most of Winterson’s books, I can say that this one fits with “The Passion” and “Sexing the Cherry,” weaving the historical and the fantastical to relate a truly horrific chapter in England’s past to make for a powerful read. Perfect for Halloween season.” Says Word owner Christine Onorati: “An intense and brutal read about the Pendle witch trials in 17th century England, this is a book to be gulped in one sitting. It has stuck with me months later.”

— Emily Pullen, Word [126 Franklin St. at Milton Street in Greenpoint, (718) 383–0096, www.wordbrooklyn.com].

The BookMark Shoppe’s pick: “The Supreme Macaroni Company” by Adriana Trigiani

This is the much-anticipated third installment in New York Times-best-selling author Adriana Trigiani’s Valentine series. Valentine Roncalli is marrying the love of her life, Italian tanner Gianluca Vechiarelli, but matrimony will hardly be simple. Aside from the age difference, Gianluca’s family and business is based in Italy while the Venchiarelli’s Angelini Shoe Company is flourishing on Greenwich Street in New York. But they will face these challenges as they have approached everything else, with love and hilarity. From New York City to New Orleans to Tuscany, “The Supreme Macaroni Company” brings Trigiani’s signature warmth, humor, and heartbreak to our beloved characters.

— Bina Valenzano, co-owner, The BookMark Shoppe [8415 Third Ave. between 84th and 85th streets in Bay Ridge, (718) 833–5115, www.bookmarkshoppe.com].

Greenlight Bookstore’s pick: “The Last Banquet” by Jonathan Grimwood

Food, passion, war, friendship — “The Last Banquet” is a delight that has it all. Grimwood tells an engrossing story of pre-revolutionary France through the eyes of an orphan whose “taste” for the undiscovered brings new meaning and devotion to the culinary arts, love and life. The book is Dickensian in his grit and its love for an underdog and perfect for fans of Patrick Suskind’s “Perfume.”

— Emily Russo, Greenlight Bookstore [686 Fulton St. between S. Elliott Place and S. Portland Avenue in Fort Greene, (718) 246–0200, www.greenlightbookstore.com].

Updated 10:16 pm, July 9, 2018
Today’s news:
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook
Subscribe

Don’t miss our updates:


Reasonable discourse

Comments closed.

First name
Last name
Your neighborhood
Email address
Daytime phone

Your letter must be signed and include all of the information requested above. (Only your name and neighborhood are published with the letter.) Letters should be as brief as possible; while they may discuss any topic of interest to our readers, priority will be given to letters that relate to stories covered by The Brooklyn Paper.

Letters will be edited at the sole discretion of the editor, may be published in whole or part in any media, and upon publication become the property of The Brooklyn Paper. The earlier in the week you send your letter, the better.

Keep it local!

Stay in touch with your community. Subscribe to our free newsletter: