We win — again! More awards for your Brooklyn Paper!

The Brooklyn Paper
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook

Don’t miss our updates:

The Brooklyn Paper has done it again — winning a trifecta of top awards at this weekend’s Independent Free Papers of America annual conference just outside of Chicago.

In a clean sweep, The Paper took home the coveted Vic Jose Award for General Excellence, the IFPA’s top honor.

In a related note of greatest, Editor Gersh Kuntzman won the award for best column writing and Senior Editor Vince DiMiceli and Art Director Leah Mitch won the award for best front-page design.

The boys collected their honors with Publisher Celia Weintrob at a banquet on Saturday. The top award is named for legendary community newspaper editor Vic Jose (pronounced Joe-zie), who founded the IFPA three decades ago.

“I’ve said it before and I guess I’ll have to keep saying it, you are reading the best newspaper in the nation, thanks to the work of our great team,” said Kuntzman. “I’m humbled by my own humility right now.”

DiMiceli, who helped win The Paper’s last Vic Jose Award in 1997 for its Bay Ridge edition, was also excited.

“This victory is even sweeter,” said DiMiceli, whose comments were frequently interrupted by well-wishers outside the convention hall. “No matter how many times you win the ‘Josie,’ it’s always a thrill.”

Weintrob thanked all the people at the News Corporation-owned Community Newspaper Group, which bought The Brooklyn Paper earlier this year.

“We have been lucky to have the support of such great people as Les Goodstein, James Spielman, Ralph D’Onofrio and all our staff at CNG, plus Joe Robinowitz at the New York Post,” Weintrob said.

“This award is not just about editorial excellence, but about the great work of our entire team all year long.”

Clearly, these aren’t our only recent awards:

• Earlier this year, reporter Mike McLaughlin won Rookie of the Year from the New York Press Association.

• In February, we learned that we’d won five more awards from the Suburban Newspapers of America, including one for our editorials, two for our GO Brooklyn section and one for front-page design.

• Last year, the IFPA named us best Web site, and honored DiMiceli and Kuntzman in the same front-page design and column-writing categories.

And in 2007, the SNA named us “Newspaper of the Year,” as well as naming Kuntzman “Editor of the year,” and also handing him the best columnist award — the first ever triple crown.

Updated 5:14 pm, July 9, 2018
Today’s news:
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook

Don’t miss our updates:

Reasonable discourse

Fred Jacobs from Michigan says:
I attended the conference and several clinics put on by your editor Kuntzman - He did a great job! Congratulations Brooklyn - great paper, great staff!
Sept. 28, 2009, 8:26 am
adam from Nypost says:
Gratz Guys!
Much Deserved dont start slacking now that you won !
Keep up the great work and have another cup of coffe!
Miss all of ya !
Sept. 29, 2009, 12:50 pm

Comments closed.

First name
Last name
Your neighborhood
Email address
Daytime phone

Your letter must be signed and include all of the information requested above. (Only your name and neighborhood are published with the letter.) Letters should be as brief as possible; while they may discuss any topic of interest to our readers, priority will be given to letters that relate to stories covered by The Brooklyn Paper.

Letters will be edited at the sole discretion of the editor, may be published in whole or part in any media, and upon publication become the property of The Brooklyn Paper. The earlier in the week you send your letter, the better.

Keep it local!

Stay in touch with your community. Subscribe to our free newsletter: