Stepping up for the Ferraro Awards - 62nd Precinct salutes outstanding students

The Brooklyn Paper
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook

Don’t miss our updates:

Bensonhurst and Bath Beach’s future was honored at St. Finbar’s last week as the 62nd Precinct named their 2008 Michael J. Ferraro award winners.

Students from over two dozen elementary, middle and high schools throughout the confines of the 62nd Precinct were chosen to receive the award, which honors young residents who have shown their own sense of “community spirit.”

The award is named in honor of Michael J. Ferraro, one of the first presidents of the 62nd Precinct Community Council, who “exemplified community service,” explained Louis Trimboli, the council’s current leader.

Recipients were chosen not by the 62nd Precinct, but by their peers, teachers and school principals impressed by their community involvement at such a young age.

This year’s award winners include Kerri Byam of Bishop Kearney High School, 2202 60th Street, Brittany Cortese of New Utrecht High School, 1601 80th Street, Meghan Clark of St. Athanasisus School, 6120 Bay Parkway, Chrisila Maida of St. Finbar School, 1820 Bath Avenue, Andrew Kelk of Our Lady of Guadalupe School, 1520 72nd Street, Connor Mayrose of Catherine Laboure Special Education Program, 294 Avenue T and Zoar Hai of Yeshivah Ohel Moshe, 7914 Bay Parkway, Kevin Richtback of Brooklyn Studio Secondary School, 8310 21st Avenue, Melody Gibbs of IS 96, 99 Avenue P, Michael Baror of IS 228, 228 Avenue S, Abigail Vaysman of PS 97, 1805 Stillwell Avenue, Kinga Skrzat of PS 101, 2360 Benson Avenue, Andy Dai of PS 112, 7151 15th Avenue, Efti Nakbamiyayev of PS 128, 2075 84th Street, Destiny Pierre-Louis of PS 163, 1664 Bath Avenue, Evangelia Korkis of PS 177, 346 Avenue P, James Earle of PS 186 7601 19th Avenue, Brittani Passante of PS 200, 1940 Benson Avenue, Rose Maxwell of PS 204, 8101 15th Avenue, Francesca Montalti of PS 205, 6701 20th Avenue, Christopher Gemelli of PS 229, 1400 Benson Avenue and Stephanie Grillo of PS 247, 7000 21st Avenue.

But the night wasn’t just about honoring future community activists. It was also about lauding the ones who are already making a difference as Auxiliary Police Officers – community residents who volunteer their time to “walk the beat” and help bolster the uniform presence at parades, festivals and other civic events.

A special George Brossard Memorial Award was given out to Auxiliary Deputy Inspector Gary Nalick, who leads the volunteer force with the help of Police Officer Carmelo Vendra.

A second Auxiliary of the Year award was given to Auxiliary Police Officer John Senia.

This was the 28th year that the 62nd Precinct honored students with the Michael J. Ferraro award.

Updated 11:48 am, January 16, 2019
Today’s news:
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook

Don’t miss our updates:

Reasonable discourse

Comments closed.

First name
Last name
Your neighborhood
Email address
Daytime phone

Your letter must be signed and include all of the information requested above. (Only your name and neighborhood are published with the letter.) Letters should be as brief as possible; while they may discuss any topic of interest to our readers, priority will be given to letters that relate to stories covered by The Brooklyn Paper.

Letters will be edited at the sole discretion of the editor, may be published in whole or part in any media, and upon publication become the property of The Brooklyn Paper. The earlier in the week you send your letter, the better.

Keep it local!

Stay in touch with your community. Subscribe to our free newsletter: